Sign In Forgot Password

School Board

The Merrick Jewish Centre School Board is an advisory group providing vision and advocacy for the Hebrew School community.

Working closely with the Director of Education, Helena Eilenberg, the School Board serves as both a resource and sounding board for new initiatives, collaborates on policy and program development, contributes to marketing efforts, and provides additional outreach to parents of Hebrew School students.  

For suggestions, comments, questions, please feel free to email us at


  • Sandra Wegman - Chairperson

    Sandra Wegman has been a member of the school board for over 15 years, providing both historical perspective and experience as a parent of two boys who have completed the Hebrew School and Community Hebrew High School.  Sandra served as a PTA class parent and, for many years, as a high holiday school wing usher. To this position Sandra also brings a varied employment background, having experience in the areas of Fundraising, Advertising, Sales and Marketing, and Healthcare Administration.  In addition to Sandra’s volunteer work on the Hebrew School Board, she has served in leadership roles in the H.D. Fayette Elementary School PTA, the Calhoun On Tour Drama Boosters, and the Brandeis University Alumni Admissions Council. Sandra has a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Brandeis University and a Master’s of Business Administration from Boston University. 

  • Heléna Eilenberg - Director of Education

  • Rena Cohen Kozin - Past President 


Sharon Ades
Kristin Desidiri
Teri Fried
Joan Frieman
Deborah Kohan
Julie Levitt
Corey Meyers
Ira Libov
Holly Sugarman
Gayle Benno - PTA Liaison
Jennifer Slovinsky - PTA Liaison

The Rabbi, Associate Rabbi, and MJC President serve as honorary members of the committee and attend meetings on a regular basis.

Sat, February 4 2023 13 Shevat 5783